Entree, Food, Recipes, Sauces, Seafood

Shrimp in Creamy Lemon-Tomato Sauce

On a hot summer day, the last thing we want is to stand too long at the stove. A quick, yet tasty and full of flavors, dish, is much more appealing. The following dish is exactly that, as it can be easily made in less than half an hour.
Choosing shrimp for the protein, therefore, makes a lot of sense, as they cook so quickly. Using a freeze-dried herbs mix, makes the preparation even quicker, as no washing and chopping is required. Adding Mediterranean ingredients, such as lemon juice and zest, capers and sun-dried tomatoes, to the sauce, pairs perfectly with the shrimps’ taste and texture.
Rounding it all up with a bit of wine, tomato paste, and cream, creates a wonderful bold and tasty sauce.
The dish can be served as is, or on a bed of pasta. For this option, I chose to use Angel Hair pasta, as it cooks very quickly, and it absorbs the sauce beautifully.
Any way you choose to serve it, this dish is perfect for a light summer lunch, or early dinner. Try it and enjoy.

Notes:
* For instructions on how to peel and deveined shrimp, click HERE
* For the freeze-dried herbs mix, I used Litehouse Poultry Blend, which is a lovely mix of onions, thyme, sage, marjoram, spring onions, garlic and rosemary. Despite its name, this mix of herbs can be used in just about any dish. It can be found in most supermarkets, or online. Any other herbs mix can be used instead.
* The best capers for this dish are the very small ones, known as “nonpareil capers”. If you can only find bigger ones, chop them roughly before adding to the mixture.

Makes: 2
Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:
10 medium shrimps, fresh or frozen-thawed (16-20 count), peeled and deveined (I kept the tails on)
½ large juicy lemon
2 Tbs freeze-dry herb (see notes), or any other dried herbs mix
2 Tbs capers (see notes)
2 Tbs sun dried tomatoes, roughly chopped
1 tsp salt
¼ tsp freshly ground four peppers mix
1 Tbs butter
1 Tbs olive oil
¼ cup rosé (or white) wine
¾ cup heavy cream, at room temperature
1 Tbs chopped scallions
1 Tbs tomato paste
For serving:
Chopped scallions
Angel Hair pasta (optional)

  1. Peel and devein the shrimps. Place on paper towels, to absorb moisture.
  2. Zest and juice the lemon. Place in a small bowl, and add the herbs mix, capers, sun dried tomatoes, salt and pepper.
  3. Mix the butter and olive oil in a medium pan, over medium-high heat. Once the butter foams a bit, add the shrimps, and sauté until they change color on both sides.
  4. Add the herbs-capers mix, and the wine, mix and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and cook for 2-3 minutes, while tilting the pan, until most of the liquids are reduced.
  5. Add the cream, scallions and tomato paste, mix and bring to a boil. Lower the heat and cook for 2-3 minutes, until the sauce thickens. Taste and adjust seasoning before serving. Serve as is, or on a bed or Angle Hair pasta. Scatter chopped scallions on top.

59 thoughts on “Shrimp in Creamy Lemon-Tomato Sauce”

  1. Yes – count me in! Shrimp is the perfect protein any time of the year as it cooks quickly and adapts to so many flavors. This is a new sauce for me – love that you “kicked it up” with capers and sun-dried tomatoes. I will look for the herb mix 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Judi, this was indeed a quick and tasty dish. The combination of capers and sun dried tomatoes is one of my favorites.
      I really like the freeze-dried herbs mix. I find it has much better flavor and texture than most dried herbs mixes. I hope you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that we both did shrimp dishes this week. Your shrimp in creamy lemon-tomato sauce looks wonderful and has so many of our favorite flavors! I haven’t made angel hair in years because I once overcooked it and it was a mess. I need to get over my fear and try it again—this time with your shrimp.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you David, I always enjoy seeing how similar ingredients can be cooked in so many tasty ways.
      As for angel hair pasta, it is indeed very quick to cook, which is why I use it often. I’m sure your next experience with it will be a triumph! 🙂

      Like

  3. I had to laugh as I know I would like this because I make almost the exact dish. My only change is cherry tomatoes because we always have them in the kitchen. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Really tasty meal with minimal time at the stove. Tomato-y Creamy Shrimp (Prawns here), over pasta, what’s not to love!! Yum!

    Thanks Ronit

    Mary :))

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Capers and sun-dried tomatoes, and this combined with lemon, must taste absolutely amazing! 🤩 Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe 🙏
    I also like the idea of the angel hair pasta, as I sometimes struggle with the vapor produced when cooking pasta like Fettuccine or Spaghetti in our hot and humid weather. 😅

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Bernadette, this dish was indeed perfect for a hot day.
      I find freeze-dried herbs to have a much better flavor and texture than most dried herbs mixes. This mixture is a favorite of mine. I hope you’ll enjoy it as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.