appetizer, Beef, Brunch, Recipes

Puff Pastry Parcels with Ground Beef, Dried Currants and Almonds

Keeping a package of good quality puff pastry in the freezer, makes it easy to create a wide variety of pastry treats.
This time, I’ve used it to create the following small crispy savory “parcels”, which were filled with a tasty beef, dried currants and roasted almonds filling.
Starting with lightly sautéed onions, spiced with allspice, nutmeg and four peppers mix, the meat is then added, along with dried currants and thyme, and cooked until the liquids evaporate.
The dried currants add a hint of tangy- sweetness to the meat, the thyme adds its fresh herbed aroma, and some lightly roasted almonds add a nutty flavor and crunchy texture.
This tasty meat filling is then wrapped in the buttery puff pastry, and baked until crispy and golden-brown.
The warm and aromatic parcels are perfect as a finger-food appetizer, or as part of a buffet food display. Another option is to serve 3-4 of them on one plate, with green salad, as a light lunch; with or without lemony Tahini dip on the side. Try them and enjoy.

Notes:
* The baked parcels can be frozen, in an air tight container, for up to a month. For best results, bring to room temperature and reheat in a toaster oven, not the microwave.

Makes: 40
Prep time: 15 minutes
Cooking time for the meat: 15-20 minutes
Baking time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:
For the meat filling:
2 small onions, small diced
2 Tbs olive oil
2 tsp salt
¼ tsp sugar
½ tsp freshly ground four peppers mix
¼ tsp allspice powder
¼ tsp freshly grated nutmeg.
1 lbs (455 grams) ground beef (at least 15% fat)
1 Tbs fresh thyme, crumbled
2 Tbs dried currants
½ cup lightly toasted slivered almonds
For the pastry:
1 package (18.3oz/520 grams) frozen all-butter puff pastry, thawed (I used Trader Joe’s)
For the egg wash:
1 L egg yolk, mixed with 2-3 Tbs water
For serving (optional):
3 Tbs Tahini sesame paste, mixed with 2 tsp fresh lemon juice, ½ tsp salt and 3 Tbs water
Fresh thyme

  1. Mix the onions with the olive oil, salt, sugar, pepper, allspice and nutmeg. Sauté over medium-high heat, mixing occasionally, for 3-4 minutes, until soft and translucent. Add the meat, mix with a spatula, to break any lumps. Add the thyme and dried currants, and cook, mixing occasionally, for about 10-15 minutes, until the meat is fully cooked and the liquids evaporate. Mix, taste and adjust seasoning. Bring to room temperature.
  2. Preheat the oven to 400F (205C). Line a sheet pan with baking paper.
  3. Place one sheet of dough over a lightly floured work space. Gently roll the dough, just to stretch it a bit. Brush lightly with the egg wash, and cut with a sharp knife into 20 squares.
  4. Place 1 heaped teaspoon of the meat filling over each square, and add a few sliced roasted almonds on top. Fold the dough corners from both sides towards the middle, as shown in the photos. Brush the tops lightly with egg wash, and place on the pan. Repeat with the rest of the dough and meat filling.
  5. Bake for about 25 minutes, until puffed and golden-brown. Serve warm, as is, or with Tahini and thyme.

52 thoughts on “Puff Pastry Parcels with Ground Beef, Dried Currants and Almonds”

    1. Thank you Dorothy, puff pastry can be used in so many ways, so I always keep a package ready to roll!
      The lemony Tahini sauce worked so well with the these tasty mini-parcels.
      Ground turkey can definitely be used here, and a vegetarian filling is always an option. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Juidi, this was a tasty use of the puff pastry, and the lemony sauce added a nice balance.
      It’s a shame Trader Joe’s puff pastry is not available year round, but at least there are other brands as well, because I’m still too lazy to make my own! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Juidi — we have never met but I could not stop myself from one of my (very few) rants about Trader Joe’s! That they consider puff pastry “seasonal” really irks me. Does no one want a nice summer fruit tart with puff? I still have a couple boxes left. I have learned to overbuy! Maybe I’ll use one of my leftover boxes to make Ronit’s beef parcels.

      Liked by 3 people

      1. I totally agree as I use puff pastry year round. Who knows why it is only available for a few months and until “supply lasts” Like Ronit I use it with both sweet and savory recipes, especially appetizers. Freezer space for me is an issue that time of the year so I do limit the amount I buy. It’s such a great price for butter pastry and it’s good too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Ronit — these sound delicious and the ingredients make me think of the Caribbean. As I mention above, I have the puff (without making it myself) and all the other ingredients on hand. Lunch someday this week! I’ll report back (or will try to remember to do so!).

    Liked by 3 people

  2. The difficulty of buying decent Puff Pastry is always ongoing. A couple of companies that made a reasonable product went under during the Covid crisis, so now we have what’s left!!
    Your little savoury Puff Parcels get my vote. I like dried fruit with meat so these will hit the spot!!
    Thanks Ronit :))

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you Mary, these aromatic parcels were very tasty and crispy, and I was glad I made this larger batch.
      All-butter puff pasty is indeed not so easy to find here either. I used to make my own, and quite often contemplate on doing so again, but once I find some at the store, it’s too tempting not to use it. 🙂

      Like

  3. This Puff Pastry Parcels with Ground Beef, Dried Currants, and Almonds recipe from Ronit Penso’s Blog sounds absolutely amazing! The combination of savory ground beef, sweet dried currants, and crunchy almonds creates a delightful flavor profile. The presentation is enticing, with the golden-brown puff pastry parcels showcasing the delicious filling. The preparation process appears to be a labor of love, carefully wrapping and baking each parcel to achieve a perfect texture and taste. It’s a recipe that blends different textures and tastes harmoniously, resulting in a mouthwatering dish that’s sure to impress. Perfect for those seeking a delicious and elegant appetizer or main course option!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That‘s one of the things I‘m missing here. I don‘t even know if puff pastry can be bought in supermarkets, but since I don‘t have a reliable freezer, we never keep things for longer than a few days in it. 😞
    The recipe is a very delicious read 😋 I can almost smell the deliciousness of the small parcels and the tasty sauce. Thanks a lot for sharing 🙏🤩

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.