appetizer, Brunch, CONDIMENTS, Recipes, Seafood

Inari Pockets with Rice and Shrimp

The following appetizer has all the components of the more known sushi rolls, but it is much easier to prepare. The secret lies in the use of Inari tofu skin pockets as the shell, rather than the more elaborate and time consuming use of Nori seaweed sheet, which require a sushi rolling mat and expertise.

In this free style dish, the rice is first placed inside the Inari pocket, followed by layers of flavorings and ingredients, creating a tasty mix of flavors and textures.

I chose to use aromatic cooked shrimp as the main addition to the pockets, but any other you have in mind, including vegetarian options, such as fried tofu, can be used as well.

The pockets are packed with flavors and don’t need any dipping sauce. They can be served as an appetizer, or as a part of finger food buffet.  Try them and enjoy.

 

Notes:

* Inari are sweet-salty fried and marinated tofu skins pockets. They are available in Asian food stores or online. Before using, drain them on paper towels, separate carefully and fill close to serving.

* Umeboshi paste is a condiment made of pureed pickled umeboshi plums. It is quite salty and acidic, so a small amount of it is plenty.

 

Makes: 8

Prep time: 30 minutes

Soaking time: 20-30 minutes

Cooking time: 30 minutes

Chilling time: 15 minutes

 

Ingredients:

For the rice:

1 cup sushi rice

1 cup water

2 Tbs rice vinegar

1 tablespoons sugar

½ teaspoon salt

For the shrimps:

8 medium shrimps (fresh or frozen, thawed), heads off, unpeeled

1 knob fresh ginger, cut into large pieces

2 Tbs soy sauce

1 Tbs rice wine vinegar

1 Tbs sesame oil

1 tsp toasted sesame seeds

For assembling:

8 Inari tofu skin pockets (see notes)

1 Nori seaweed sheet, cut into 8 rectangles

1 Tbs Umeboshi paste (see notes)

½ tsp prepared Wasabi paste

Pickled ginger

1 scallion, roughly cut

 

  1. The rice: wash the rice in cold water, until the water is clear. Transfer to a medium pot, add the water, and let stand for 20-30 minutes.
  2. Cover the pot, bring to a boil over high heat and cook for 2 minutes. Reduce the heat to low and cook for 15 minutes. Turn off the heat. Keep in the pot, covered, for 15 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, mix the vinegar, sugar and salt in a small bowl. Stir to dissolve the sugar. Pour over the rice and mix gently. Keep covered, at room temperature, until using.
  4. The shrimps: with a sharp knife, make a cut at the back of each shrimp and clean it. (Click HERE for detailed instructions).
  5. Place in one layer in a large pan. Add the ginger, soy sauce, rice wine vinegar and water to cover. Bring to a boil over high heat. Lower the heat to medium and cook until the shrimps change color. Let cool in the liquid, drain and peel. Lightly heat the sesame oil and pour over the shrimps. Sprinkle the toasted sesame seeds on top and mix.
  6. Assembly: divide the prepared rice between the inari pockets. Mix the umebushi paste with the wasabi paste, and brush a thin layer over the rice. Add a folded piece of Nori seaweed over, then top with shrimp and pickled ginger. Scatter sliced scallion on top and serve.

32 thoughts on “Inari Pockets with Rice and Shrimp”

  1. Oh my, this does look tasty. I didn’t realise that I could buy those little cases. Have seen them used in Sushi shops but just thought they were being very clever!! Another cute food item to hunt down along with the pickled Plum Paste 🙂 This combination of filling is lovely too. Just the sort of food I like to eat.
    Thankyou Ronit for another lovely introduction to different foods and flavours :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mary, I’m glad you liked the recipe. These pockets can be used with various fillings. I keep a can in the pantry, to make quick appetizers with them.
      I hope you’ll find these ingredients and enjoy them. Thanks for your ongoing support! 🙂

      Like

  2. I hsvee grown to like nori and I am still working on tofu. These pockets sound wonderful and because they are fried with seasoning this may be my turning point. Confusing on Amazon but I will work it out or make my own 🙂 Thumbs up because you used shrimps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Judi. I’m quite sure you’ll be pleasantly surprised by how different these pockets are from regular tofu, both in texture and flavor.
      The shrimps were so perfect with the filling. I plan to make a double batch next time! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you Dorothy, I’m glad you liked the recipe. It was fun to experiment with all these ingredients, and enjoy the tasty result.
      As much as I remember, Brattleboro Co Op used to carry them, but it’s been quite a while since I’ve been there.

      Like

  3. I’m glad you posed this. I have been curious about tofu skin for some time and have not yet taken the plunge and used them in a dish. I can imagine the flavors are wonderful in this…but all it took was the toasted sesame seeds to make my mouth water!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I have found them here in the chilled section when I searched online..I could find the tins on Amazon but they don’t deliver here and were out of stock …When I next shop on line I will order some from the shop can’t wait to try them yours looked delicious, Ronit 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Blaine, for such a nice compliment! 🙂
      I usually devein shrimp quickly with a pairing knife, but I’ll definitely look into this deveiner. It looks like a great little tool, especially for large quantities. Thanks for sending the link! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

          1. I was once on military duty in Virginia and my daughter back in New Orleans was throwing a party, and asked me for my gumbo recipe. I had taught her how to make it, but she just wanted a little guidance. I went to the business center at the hotel I was staying at and typed the recipe up and emailed it to her. I saved it so I’d never have to type it again. If you want it drop me a line at baustin133@aol.com and I’ll send it to you.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I have really been thinking of inari as inpired by your recipe! I really hope to be able to get to the Asian market soon one of these days and give them a try. I have seen inari tofu skins while shopping at the Korean market near my house but have not bought them. I will let you know as soon as I get a chance to make them. Thanks and Happy Sunday! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.