Chicken, duck, Entree, Recipes

Orange Marmalade Chicken Thighs

 

Upon reading Dorothy’s post in her wonderful blog “The New Vintage Kitchen”,  about her friend’s Hilda’s chicken marmalade recipe, I knew I wanted to give it a try. Such simple, yet complex at the same time, recipes, always intrigue me. The fact that the main flavoring ingredient was orange marmalade, a favorite of mine, was definitely part of the attraction.
As I didn’t have the specific bitter orange marmalade Dorothy recommended on at hand, I’ve decided to improvise a bit. The marmalade I’ve used was Whole Foods’ Orange Marmalade Fruit Spread, which is fairly mild in flavor and aroma, and I knew it needed a bit of flavor kick. A bit Dijon mustard, a small amount of spicy Gochujang sauce, salt and freshly ground four peppers mix, did exactly that, and gave it more complex flavors and aroma.
As I had some blood oranges at hand, I’ve decided the dish would benefit from adding slices of it to the pan. The blood orange indeed added lots of orange aroma, and the extra bitterness that the marmalade was lacking. Once roasted along with the chicken, the slices also made an extra tasty garnish to the chicken.
The prepared chicken was so tasty and aromatic, that I was sorry for not doubling the amount. Served with assorted roasted vegetables and potatoes, it made the perfect dish for a light dinner. Try it and enjoy.

 

Makes: 4
Prep time: 10 minutes
Frying time: 15 minutes
Roasting time: 2 hours

Ingredients:
1 blood orange
4 medium chicken thighs (1.6 lbs./750 grams), bone in, skin on, preferably air chilled
2 tsp salt, divided
½ tsp freshly ground four pepper mix
1/3 cup flour
Light olive oil for shallow frying
4 Tbs orange marmalade (see introduction)
2 tsp Dijon mustard
2 tsp Gochujang sauce

  1. Preheat the oven to 250F (120C). Line a deep baking pan with baking paper. Wash and dry the blood orange, cut in half, lengthwise, slice into medium slices, and arrange in the pan.
  2. Rub the chicken on both sides with ¼ tsp salt, and ¼ tsp pepper. In a shallow container, mix the flour with ¾ tsp salt and pepper. Dredge the chicken in the flour mix, on both sides.
  3. Heat the oil in a wide pan, over medium-high heat. Shake off excess flour from the chicken, and place in the oil, skin side down. Fry for 6-7 minutes, until the skin is golden brown and crisp. Turn to the other side and fry for 6-7 minutes. Place in the pan, skin side up.
  4. Mix the orange marmalade with the mustard, Gochujang sauce, 1 tsp salt, and a bit more four peppers mix. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed. Spread 1 Tbs over each chicken thigh.
  5. Cover the pan with baking paper and aluminum foil, and seal it tight. Bake for 2 hours. Uncover the pan, and place under the broiler for 1-2 minutes, to brown the top a bit (skip this step if you don’t have a broiler).
  6. Serve with roasted vegetables, potatoes, blood orange slices, and spoon the pan liquids over.

32 thoughts on “Orange Marmalade Chicken Thighs”

    1. Thank you Judi, this was indeed a delicious meal, and a great find. Adding a bit more flavors to the orange marmalade did the trick for me.
      Orange marmalade can get too thick, as the peel has lots of pectin in it. I plan on making blood orange one soon, so thanks for the reminder that it can happen. I’ll try to remember to add more water to it.! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have made chicken dishes with orange included before. I must say this sounds really Yum! I like citrus in with meat as it always gives the dish a fresh taste.
    Thanks Ronit for the reminder that Orange is always good in chicken dishes……. with fresh herbs? Tarragon? Rosemary? :)))

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Mary, this dish was delicious.
      Citrus indeed pairs well with chicken, and also with duck (check the search button for recipes).
      Adding herbs is always a good idea. I can definitely see how tarragon or rosemary will work well here. 🙂

      Like

  2. I love your little twists to the original recipe Ronit! I can’t count the number of folks I’ve given this recipe to, and it’s always a hit. It’s also a good recipe to hand off to beginner cooks; it is simple, it always turns out delicious, and it gives them a boost of confidence in the kitchen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dorothy, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
      It is indeed a simple dish that can be mastered by beginner cooks, and at the same time, it has such complex flavors to it.
      I was eager to try it, so used the orange marmalade I’ve had at hand, but I’ll be looking for the one you’ve recommended, to make it again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Thanks! By now I’ve found a few different Dundee orange marmalade, and I’m not sure which one to choose! I thought it was a specific brand name!

          The blood oranges added lots of aroma, that the marmalade was somewhat lacking. The bonus was that they were so tasty after this long roasting with the chicken. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  3. The day you posted this, I was experimenting with a chicken breast in an orange cream sauce. It was good, but I am sure yours is better. I am going to try it! And go in a different direction for my chicken!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I made your recipe yesterday! Pictures to come. I McGyvered it – 2 madarin oranges, one apple and two lemons. Chili pepper flakes instead of gochujang sauce. The frying was a great idea to keep the flavours in while baking. My chicken was so tender – I used thighs with leg attached -The leg fell off when I picked up the thigh to plate. Truly a must have in my recipe classics. I will experiment by adding rosemary. I think I should have used more pepper flakes. The fruit was a great addition. [ two hour oven time – splendid! ] I can’t say enough..I loved it! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for this lovely update. I’m very glad to hear.
      Your additions sound amazing! I love the idea of lemons and apples in there.
      It’s so much fun to see how one recipe evolves through different blogs.
      Looking forward to seeing your recipe! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.