Cakes and Desserts, Cookies, Recipes

Oatmeal, Dates and Chocolate Cookies

Oatmeal cookies are always popular, as they are relatively more nutritious than most white flour cookies. The fact that they are also very tasty, and quick to make, only makes them even more popular. The versions for these cookies, which I’ve already posted in this blog, can be found HERE, and include a couple of gluten-free ones as well.
This time, I’ve decided on the tasty and fragrant combination of dates, chocolate chips, vanilla and cardamom powder.  Dark brown sugar enhanced the caramel-like flavor of the dates, while the chocolate chips added another layer of rich creamy sweetness to the cookies.
Using both rolled oats and quick oats in the dough, created a more interesting texture. The dough doesn’t require chilling, and the cookies can be made in under half an hour.
These tasty, and moderately sweet cookies, can be served as a snack any time of the day. Try them and enjoy.

*For more recipes with dates, click HERE.

Makes: about 26
Prep time: 15 minutes
Baking time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:
1 stick (4 oz, 115 grams) butter, soft
1 L egg
¾ cup dark brown sugar, packed
1 tsp vanilla
½ tsp cardamom powder
¾ cup rolled oats
1 cup quick oats
½ cup white flour (or gluten free)
2 tsp baking power
¼ tsp salt
½ cup chocolate chips
½ cup chopped dates (preferably Medjool), mixed with 1 tsp cornstarch

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F (175C). Line two cookie sheets with baking paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the butter, egg, sugar, vanilla and cardamom powder.
  3. Add both types of oats, flour, baking powder and salt. Mix briefly to incorporate.
  4. Add the chocolate chips and chopped dates, and mix again.
  5. Using a small ice cream scoop, form about 26 balls. Place on the lined cookie sheets, leaving room to expand.
  6. Bake for about 15 minutes, until the cookies are golden. Let cool in the pan.

37 thoughts on “Oatmeal, Dates and Chocolate Cookies”

    1. Thank you Mimi, these cookies were indeed quite tempting, and the cardamom fragrance was so wonderful in them.
      As for eating them all, I totally empathize! A good “solution” is to place them in the freezer, and have one at a time! 🙂

      Like

  1. I would consider these “breakfast cookies.” I always freeze them and take one out at a time. No need to thaw as they are delicious frozen. I like your version with the dates and chocolate as I usually use fruit 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Judi, the dates and chocolate combination worked so well here. I’m glad you liked it. No doubt these tasty cookies are great as breakfast treat. I also like to keep them in the freezer, just in case… 🙂

      Like

  2. Oatmeal and dates are a wonderful combination, but it’s the addition of the cardamom that makes these so special to me. I wish I had one now!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Because of allergies, had to exchange the cardamom for cinnamon (1 tsp). Recipe was still delicious and I do love the dates and chocolate combo paired with the rolled oats. Another “winner” Chef Renit! Thank you. . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Made them and they are reposing in the Cookie Box as I write. Cardamom flavour really nice with the chocolate and dates.
    Why do you add Cornflour to the dates- to stop them sticking together? That is a new addition to me and was pleased I followed the direction. I shall remember that for future baking.

    Thanks Ronit

    Mary :))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mary, I’m very glad to learn you’ve enjoyed the cookies.
      The cornstarch is indeed added in order to prevent the dates from sticking together. I do it with any type of dried fruits, in cakes as well. I’m glad you’ve found it helpful.
      Best

      Like

  5. Here you go again, Ronit, with an interesting spin on a traditional recipe. I add chocolate chips to my oatmeal cookies but I’ve never tried dates. Now I have to! If you make it, I’m sure it is more than delicious.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.