Cakes and Desserts, Cookies, Recipes

Cocoa Condensed Milk Dough Cookies with Coconut Filling

 

After posting a recipe for coconut filled cookies a few weeks ago, I was asked in one comment about adding chocolate flavor to the cookies. As coconut and chocolate do pair well together, this made me think about adding cocoa powder to the dough, in order to create this tasty combination.
The dough is based on condensed milk, and is one of my favorites, since discovering it in THIS blog. I have used it in ith different ways, and with different fillings, but this is the first time I’ve actually changed the dough ingredients. I’m happy to report that the experiment was highly successful, and the cookies were delicious.
This unique dough is very quick and easy to assemble, as it doesn’t contain butter, and there’s no need to cream it. It has a delicate flavor, soft texture and subtle milky aroma, which pairs well with the coconut filling.
Instead of creating individual cookie, I chose here, once again, the quicker way of rolling it with the filling into roulades, and cut them after partial baking. This method ensures the filling will keep inside the dough while baking, and keep it moist. This time, I’ve also added a layer of apricot jam, which worked amazingly well with the cocoa dough and the coconut filling. I also rolled the dough a bit thinner than last time, so ended up with more cookies.
With very few ingredients, these delicate cookies have so much flavor and wonderful aroma. They make a perfect snack any time of the day, served with hot or cold beverage of your choice. Try them and enjoy.

Makes: about 50 cookies
Prep time: 20 minutes
Chilling time: 30 minutes and up to overnight
Baking time: 35 minutes

Ingredients:
For the dough:
1 L egg, at room temperature
½ cup condensed sweetened milk
2 Tbs dark cocoa powder
1¼ cups flour
¼ tsp salt
½ tsp baking powder
For the filling:
1 L egg white
1½ cups desiccated unsweetened coconut
1 cup powdered sugar
½ tsp vanilla
¼ tsp salt
3-4 Tbs apricot jam
For the egg wash:
1 L egg yolk
1 Tbs milk
1 Tbs water
½ tsp vanilla

1. The dough: in a medium bowl, whisk together the egg and condensed milk. Add the cocoa powder, and mix. Add the flour, salt and baking powder, and mix, first with a spatula (the dough is quite sticky at first), then knead briefly, (adding a bit of flour, if needed). Wrap the dough with wax paper, and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes (and up to overnight). Bring to room temperature before using.
2. Preheat the oven to 340F (170C). Line a cookie sheet pan with baking paper.
3. The filling: in a small bowl, mix the egg white with the powdered sugar, coconut, vanilla and salt. The egg wash: whisk the egg yolk with the milk, water and vanilla.
4. Divide the dough into three equal parts. Roll each part on a lightly floured work space, into rectangle, about 9” (23 cm) x 5” (12.5 cm). Spread apricot jam over, and arrange a third of the filling over. Brush with egg wash around the edges, and roll into roulade.
5. Place the roulades on the baking pan, seam side down, and brush the tops with the remaining egg wash. Using a plastic dough scraper, or a dull knife, cut the roulades, not all the way through, to about 0.6” (1.5 cm) thick sections.
6. Bake for 22-24 minutes, until the roulades are set. Take out of the oven, and cut the sections all the way through, separating the cookies. Place back in the oven and bake for 5 minutes longer, until the cookies are set.

 

50 thoughts on “Cocoa Condensed Milk Dough Cookies with Coconut Filling”

    1. Hi Ronit!
      Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
      I was looking for some coconut cookies, and here they are!
      I’m eager to try this condensed milk dough!
      And yes, I’m making them now, last minute, so I have less chance to eat them all by myself!!! 😋
      Have a Happy Christmas or whatever is for you… 🫣 (I’m so ignorant, sorry)!
      Anyway, for everyone, this is the season of love and family! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Antonella, I’m glad you liked the recipe and decided to give it a try.
        This dough is so special, and can be used in many ways. I hope you’ll enjoy it. I’ll be happy to hear your comments.
        I celebrate Hanukah, but definitely enjoy the festive time of Christmas.
        Happy Holidays to you and yours! 🙂

        Like

      1. I must admit that condensed milk is not something I buy or use often at all..not sure why my nan used to spoon it out of the tin and eat it and I think that’s what turned me off I didn’t like it as a child…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Another brilliant condensed milk dough! I know I would love these with coconut but I am the only one in my crowd who likes coconut – I think I will work on an almond paste filling and see how it goes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh these look good! there is a candy bar – Mounds? Maybe another name. It was one that even though the coconut filling was sweet, the dark chocolate helped temper the sweetness. I know I would love these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.