duck, Entree, fruit, Recipes

Orange and Quince Duck Legs

 

Whenever I’m lucky enough to find quince at the store, I immediately grab a few. It is such a wonderful and versatile fruit, and it is a real shame its’ season is fairly short.
On top of being such a fragrant fruit, quince has so much pectin in it, it is no wonder that its’ main use is in making jams, jellies and fruit pastes. Quince is also great for making Pate de Fruit, a recipe I have shared a while ago, and can be found HERE.
However, the uses of quince are not limited to sweet dishes. All over the Mediterranean and the Middle East, quince is used in many savory dishes, mainly in lamb or meat stews. Quince adds its unique aroma, slight acidity and subtle sweetness to the dishes, while it thickens the sauce at the same time.
As I was about to make my version of Duck à l’orange, I’ve decided it can only benefit from the addition of quince. The result turned out to be even better than the original, so I will surely use this recipe again. The duck was almost falling off the bones, and was perfumed with orange and quince aroma, while the quince kept its shape and was so tasty on its own right.
I served the dish with plain couscous, but polenta or rice are also great on the side. This festive and aromatic dish is perfect for the holidays season. Try it and enjoy.

Makes: 4-6
Prep time: 30 minutes
Cooking time: 2 hours

Ingredients:
3 duck legs (about 1.5 lb, 750 grams), preferably fresh, at room temperature (If using frozen, thaw slowly in the fridge overnight)
1 Tbs salt
½ tsp freshly ground four peppers mix
3 large oranges
1 cup chicken stock
2 Tbs cider vinegar
2 medium size quince
¼ cup sugar
2 Tbs water
3 bay leaves

1. With a sharp knife, make a few superficial cuts in the duck’s skin (this will help release the fat), and separate the drumsticks from the thighs.
2. Heat a medium size wide pot over medium-high heat. Add the duck pieces, skin side down, and fry, in its own rendered fat, for about 5 minutes, until the skin is deep golden. Turn over and fry for 3-4 minutes. Transfer to a plate lined with paper towels. Scatter 1 tsp salt and ¼ tsp pepper over. Drain the fat from the pot (keep it – it’s great for roasted potatoes!), and clean it.
3. With a vegetable peeler, remove the zest of 1 orange, and cut it into thin strips with a sharp, heavy knife. Place in a small bowl, and top with boiling water. Let stand for a minute, and drain. Juice all three oranges and measure 1¼ cups juice. Mix with the chicken stock and vinegar and set aside.
4. With a heavy, sharp knife, cut the unpeeled quinces into quarters. Remove the cores and cut into medium size cubes. (Don’t peel them, as the cubes will not keep their shape during cooking if peeled.)
5. Preheat the oven to 300F (150C).
6. Mix the sugar and 2 Tbs water in the pot, and cook over medium-high heat until the syrup changes its color to amber. (Make sure not to wait too long, or the caramel will become bitter.) Carefully, pour the orange juice/chicken stock mix into the pot. (Don’t be alarmed if the caramel lumps out, it will dissolve later on). Add the bay leaves and the remaining salt and pepper. Mix and bring to a boil.
7. Add the duck pieces, in one layer, and top with the quince cubes and orange zest. Cover the pot and cook for 5 minutes, on the verge of boiling, then transfer to the preheated oven.
8. After 1 hour, reduce the oven temperature to 220F (105C) and uncover the pot. Braise for about 40 minutes longer, basting occasionally, until the duck is very tender and almost falls off the bone, the quince soft and the sauce reduced.
9. Take the pot out of the oven and place it over medium-high heat. Bring to the verge of boiling, and cook for 3-4 minutes, to reduce the sauce further. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed. Serve hot.

32 thoughts on “Orange and Quince Duck Legs”

  1. over The years I have been lucky enough to make a few things with Quince but they don’t appear very often. Being an old fashioned fruit and not one that can be eaten ‘raw’ they don’t enjoy great popularity.
    This recipe sounds lovely indeed. Now to track down the Quince!! Until then this recipe will be tucked away and saved.
    Thanks Ronit :))

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Mary, I agree – quince is not easy to find, for all the reasons you’ve mentioned. Which is why if I see any, I always get more than one, and use them in different ways. This one was especially pleasing. I hope you’ll be able to find some quince and enjoy this dish. 🙂

      Like

  2. You’re a professional Ronit as you often create recipes from what you see in season at your grocery. I go into a store with specific ingredients in mind. As a gardener I too would cook the veggies/herbs that were in season and needed to be picked. It’s the best way to cook and for me to garden 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Judi, you’ve described the process so beautifully!
      For me to be a grander would require “recipe” books, as it’s not a filed I’m comfortable enough with, to be able to improvise, like I can with cooking.
      At least with gardening it’s a longer lasting enjoyment, while in cooing it is much shorter! 🙂

      Like

  3. We call quince kvitten here, but I’ve also only used it in marmalade. We enjoy duck as often as possible, so I’m saving this for when we see kvitten at the market again.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Duck is among my most favorite food in the world! I have gone vegetarian since March of this year. If I ever break my diet, it will be for a duck dish! Your post made me drool! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I only ate duck l’orange once, and did not like it, but I was young and had not eaten much of a variety of foods. Now, the few times I have eaten duck, it was incredible. This makes me want to try this, though I am fairly certain I would have to drive to Memphis to find duck legs or quince!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m glad you liked the recipe. Lucky for us, our taste buds and culinary experiences change our views over the years. I hope you’ll be able to find duck and quince and enjoy this tasty combination. Driving to Memphis, for any reason, sounds like fun! It’s on my bucket list. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so intrigued. I’ve never eaten or cooked with quince. They just don’t come around this way. But I’ve had quince paste, and that’s exquisite. I love the photo of the duck and quince. Such a lovely presentation.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a fabulous combination, Ronit. I will do my best to recreate with duck breasts as legs are hard to get here. (Oddly, I can get confit easily…) I love quince but it is rare, as you suggest, to find it in the markets. I am going to a quince jam-making class this Saturday and they will give us fruit to take home. I know what I am doing with it! (and the oranges are ripe in the neighborhood, too!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you David, this dish was quite a feast, and the quince added wonderful flavor and aroma. Quince jam making class sounds great, especially with fruit to take home.
      I can’t see how duck breast can endure the lengthy cooking time required here, but I’m sure you’ll come up with a good solution! 🙂

      Like

      1. Hello and Happy Christmas Eve! Well, I made my version of the duck last evening and it was fabulous thanks to your recipe! I made the confit of quince and orange as you directed but added a tablespoon of duck fat as I did not cook the duck breasts with the confit. As you said, the duck breasts would not do well in the recipe as printed – so I cooked them separately sous vide for an hour at 135°F, then seared them in a cast iron pan. I sliced the duck breasts and served the confit on the side. Just delicious!! Thanks for a truly wonderful recipe that we will surely make again!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you David, for this lovely update!
          I was sure you’d be able to find a good way to use duck breast with this dish, and I’m glad it worked so well for you.
          Merry Christmas and all the best wishes to you and yours. 🙂

          Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.